The 25th Annual EVVY Awards

The 25th Annual EVVY Awards is the largest student-produced award show in the country. Modeled after the Oscars and the Emmys, the show is a live switched eight-camera production, broadcast over Boston Neighborhood Network (BNN), via satellite in New York and Los Angeles, and webcast live from the Cutler-Majestic Theatre in Boston.

Originally created to recognize student achievement in television, The EVVY Awards has evolved to include nearly every area of study offered at Emerson College, awarding the best in Emerson television, video, film, performance, photography, audio, new media, marketing, and writing. Winners and nominees are decided by working professionals recruited by The EVVY Awards.

The EVVY Awards was founded in 1981 by Emerson Independent Video students Glenn Meehan and Martie Cook and celebrates its silver anniversary on May 13, 2006.

The EVVY Awards also honors professionals in the communication arts with special awards. The EVVY Alumni Award of Distinction is given to an Emerson College alumnus for outstanding achievement in the fields of communication, visual and performing arts. Past award recipients include John Wentworth, Executive Vice-President of Marketing & Media Relations for Paramount Television; Doug Herzog, President of Comedy Central; Kevin Bright, Executive Producer of Friends, and actors Denis Leary and Henry Winkler.

The Zacharis Award for Ethics in Communication, established in memory of John C. Zacharis, Emerson‚€™s tenth President, is given to industry professionals who embody moral sensibility and dedication to communications in the arts. Past honorees include actor Gregory Hines, Graham Chedd, Co-Executive Producer for Scientific American Frontiers and Sesame Street.

The EVVY Awards also includes roll-ins, which are taped, congratulatory messages from celebrities and industry professionals to the winners and nominees of the annual show. This year‚€™s roll-ins include Emmy Award winner Charles McDougall, director for Desperate Housewives (pilot episode); John O‚€™Hurley of Chicago and Dancing With The Star; Academy Award nominees David Lynch, director of Mulholland Drive, and Terry George, writer for Hotel Rwanda.

In addition to being an awards show, The EVVY Awards prides itself in being an educational organization which provides nearly 200 student members with valuable skills and hands-on experiences necessary to succeed in the professional world. Numerous events are held throughout the year to inform and educate the EVVY and Emerson community. These events, which include News Night, High Definition Showcase, Entertainment Marketing Night, Writing, Literature and Publishing Night, Theatre Night and New Media Night, feature professionals who share their real world experience with Emerson students.

The EVVY Awards is also committed to philanthropic events that give back to the community. Every year, members of the organization participate in numerous community outreach organizations throughout the Boston area, including Makings Strides Against Breast Cancer, Cradles to Crayons, Neighbor Hood Action, Charles River Clean-Up and Community Servings.

Download our press kit in PDF format for more information.

Contact Us

Executive Producers Profiles